Posted in Parenting

Taming The Night Time Nappy Beast

So, night time toilet training has been a disaster! She not only wet the bed every night, she did it twice last night. What makes it worse is that she sleeps in it till we realize it. Then it is a round of her dad angrily changing sheets while I change her clothes delicately, trying not to wake her up altogether. It has not been a fun week.

This is just a fail-safe, okay? If you need to wee, you wake mummy or daddy up“, I heard him saying to her, as he wrapped a nappy around her bottom.

I’ve been telling her every night to wake us up if she needed to go. I don’t think she even knows that she needs to go. It just happens in her sleep. She continues to sleep in it till one of us (usually me) wakes up to take her to the toilet, only to find out that she has already gone. It looks like it is back to the good old parenting forums and books for us. We need to learn how to teach her not to wee at night. It might turn out that we simply have to wait it out, till she is old enough to understand it. In the meanwhile, she is back to her night-time nappies and, oh boy, is she thrilled to “be a baby” again!

Between last night’s sheets and the ones from daycare this afternoon, I had a load of smelly washing to do. I asked her why she hadn’t gone to the toilet at daycare.

My teacher didn’t tell me!

But I told you not to wait for your teacher. You go when you have the urge to go.

Yeah, but the teacher said only one. She said old Elsa, not new Elsa. I am new Elsa.

She didn’t go because her teacher did not address her properly! If she keeps up with this, she is going to be coming home with a lot of wet clothes over the next few days. She is either Elsa or someone else. Who understands her distinction between new and old Elsa (from Frozen and Frozen Fever respectively), baby Elsa and grown-up Elsa, etc? Her parents, that’s who. The rest of the world thinks either she is Elsa or she isn’t. In fact, she is lucky they even know her as Elsa and are careful not to address her by any other name. Princess much?

I wish there was an Elsa movie for night time toilet training. Maybe there is a Daniel Tiger one. That sort of worked for us during her daytime toilet training. There may be an easy way after all.

How did you toilet training your toddlers at night? How old were they when they went off nappies overnight?

 

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

