Posted in Random

Another girl bites the bullet… my first love is my daddy, she says

Daddy daughter loveMama, can I get married when I grow bigger?

Yeah, sure. If you find someone, when you’re old enough, you can. 

Can I marry my daddy?

Umm, no. I don’t think so?

But I wanna!

Why do you want to marry your dad? He’s already your daddy.  

I love him. I want to marry him when I’m bigger.

Hmm. What about me, then? What will I do?

I’ll marry you too. I’ll marry my daddy and my mummy!

Obviously, she got my question wrong there. I meant to ask what I should do if she married my husband. Apparently, I wasn’t clear enough.

After a moment’s thought, she decided that she only really wanted to marry dad and not mum. She felt obliged to offer to marry me, in order to not hurt my feelings.

Mummy! I’ll marry my daddy when I’m bigger and I’ll marry you when I’m smaller. Deal?

Of course! She is never going to “grow smaller”, so that’s a win-win for everyone.

Daddy, I’m going to marry mummy when I am smaller. Bye Daddy. Have a nice day!

We jumped off the train and headed to the daycare. There was no more talk of marriage, as we discussed the plan for the rest of the day. Yeah, that’s right. We plan ahead and she needs to know the schedule beforehand. That’s another story!

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

