Posted in Parenting, Talents, Uncategorized

Mummy’s Me Time Involves Googling Hairstyles, Braids and Princesses Before Work

As I left home as an adult, I cut my hair short. There was no mum to care for my hair and I decided it was far too much work to try to style it. It’s my turn to be mum now and R loves long hair. Not only does she love it but she expects me to be able to do all the hairstyles her favourite characters sport. Ouch!

For a long time, she wanted the Elsa hair. I got away by braiding her hair for a bit and then I bought a blonder braid extension to add to her braid. It was best $5 I’ve spent. To this day, she doesn’t quite know that it isn’t the actual Elsa hair style as in the movie but just a regular braid. One morning, I was in a bit of a hurry and had to request one of her daycare teachers to braid her hair. It was a different to how I normally do it and it stayed in place for longer than my regular braid. Since then I’ve been doing a couple of versions of the French braid, with this blonde extension. She absolutely loves it.

braid blonde
$5 at H&M, complete value for money

For the last couple of weekends, it’s been all about the Rapunzel hair. I’ve had to sacrifice a scarf in the process, so she can have long hair that will “circle” at her feet. I haven’t let her wear it to the daycare. Luckily for me, there wasn’t much of a style involved with there. Rapunzel mostly lets it hang loose. I doubt that Mother Gothel cared much to Google braids and styles for her ward anyway. It must really hurt your arms to tie all that hair up every day. A couple of times R has mentioned Rapunzel’s braid with the flowers, when she’s at the village, but so far I’ve gotten away without having to do that. In preparation for the day when I might not be able to get out, I sought help from the world wide web.

I found an Elsa braid tutorial on Pinterest (more here). It looked complicated for a daily school braid. I pinned it for later and only got to it this morning. I had to look at the youtube video to learn how to do it. I might not be able to do it exactly like the video but I reckon I can pull off a fishtail braid easily enough. That should work for the next Rapunzel flower braid request. Anyway, one thing led to another (as it would) and before I knew it, the morning was gone. I woke up at 5:30AM to get some time for myself… and spent the hour and half looking up how to do a variety of easy and stylish braids. I also managed to find a website of princess hairstyles, which I imagine will serve me well for the next Halloween or some other special day.

Somehow, over the last 3 years, ‘me time’ has become all about researching on things that will satisfy her needs. Preparing myself for requests that might come my way when she is awake seems to be all I do while she is sleeping. On the rare day that I get to commute by myself on the train, I find that I don’t have a book to read and I’m too excited to sit still, so I eventually end up Googling some place I could take her on the weekend or Pinning activities for the quiet times. It is like this cartoon I saw on one parenting forum, once.

nick-jr.jpg

As soon as I’m done with her stuff and get started on mine, she is up. That is my cue that it’s time to start running against the clock. Another morning of trying to get her to daycare before morning tea and myself to work with enough time to grab a coffee before dashing into the first of many meetings. It’s only Tuesday.

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

