Posted in Uncategorized

A Good Day Means Enjoying Myself

“How can you want to stay at home on weekends? You don’t have a plan? You’re not going out? There’s so much to see and do outside the house!”

My words, said to someone at work, only five years ago. I planned holidays days ahead. In fact, by Tuesday I’d know what I’d be doing on Saturday and Sunday. Today, being a public holiday, was going to be another day out for us. Then her dad said he had 4 hours of work to get done. She woke up and announced, “I want to do 5 activities today – playdough, painting, watch TV, make a bracelet, make boats in the bath, puzzles and games“.

She has been going on all cylinders since then. She thinks I let her take a day off from daycare and I have taken time off work. I didn’t feel the need to correct her. I mean, a child does not know the difference between a public holiday and mum-stayed-at-home-with-me-today day. She has decided she wants to be Rapunzel today. She let me choose her clothes, as long as she could have hair long enough to trail her and “make a circle” on the floor.

FullSizeRender

She did a jigsaw puzzle by herself for a bit, so I finished watching the movie I had dozed off over last night. Then I made her a paper boat while she had an awfully long bath, bubbles and all. I had to Google how to make a paper boat. How did we live in a world before the internet? My parents just knew these things. How to make a paper boat, how to bake a cake, things like that. I rely on the internet for everything – recipes, braids, crafts, you name it.

As far as her activities are concerned, we can safely say it has been a roaring success. She played games on my phone and made faces on SnapChat in the morning, while I dried and braided her “long hair”. She waited patiently for me to fix the “Rapunzel hair” on. A scarf of mine was sacrificed in the process because the large flannel sheet she grabbed off our bed was never going to stay on her head. I had to try a few different things to keep the scarf from falling off. Pulling her hair together with the fabric into an elastic seems to be working. We now have a new purple and blue bracelet, with a spot of red. She watched Tangled on television, with the Rapunzel book on her lap, comparing pictures with the scenes in the movie.

Dad has finished his work and is taking pictures of her being happy doing all the activities she wanted.

“Look at her! Look how happy she is”, he gushes.

“I’m having a good day, mummy. It means I am enjoying what I’m doing”, she says.

In the meanwhile, mummy has updated her blog and planned the next few weekends all the way through to mid-September. I guess we can all say we have had a good day, doing what we all like. Staying at home isn’t such a bad thing, after all!

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

