Posted in Parenting, Talents

Artists In The House

One moment I’m trying to teach her to draw a circle – unsuccessfully, I will admit – and the next minute, she is drawing pictures that somewhat resemble real life creatures. I mean you can see the resemblance once she tells you what it is. When she asks me to guess, that’s an awkward situation to be in. Luckily, she doesn’t feel bad when my answer is wrong. This morning, her drawing was special.  


Apparently, it is a picture of me, with long “Rapunzel hair”. She is obsessed with hair at the moment. Blonde hair… and princesses. I wouldn’t have guessed it but once she has told me that it’s a picture of me, I can see it. Of course! Two eyes, what appears to be a mouth, outstretched arms (that seem to be coming out of  my face), wild hair (so far this is the closest resemblance to me), a SpongeBob SquarePants body and a couple of leg-like extensions. Why not?

Later she drew another picture and described to us what her future looked like. It was a depiction of her, when she is all grown up. She is driving a monster truck, which crashes into a red car with a door. It’s important to note that the car has a door. She is thrown off the monster truck onto the car but manages to jump back into her truck. There were a lot of people but after the crash, only three are left – her, her mum and her dad. Later we find out the red car was being driven by trees, not people. Sounds like all the casualties were trees, phew! That’s a little less gory than the picture that was forming in my head. It’s my fault, though. There was no violence or bloodshed in her picture. I imagined that in. Purely my bad. 


Once more, I see a bit of her dad in her. I could draw a half-decent portrait or scenery when I had something to copy off of. Her dad draws things from memory, imagination or whatever it is that makes artists draw. She does that. She drew this image of me in the library, while I was busy moving furniture in the living room. She drew her future purely from her imagination. 

When I have one of those moments where I’m questioning my parenting skills, I wonder if I would have been able to teach her the kind of things she learns at the daycare. Like drawing a circle, for instance. Maybe I would have. Who knows? It’s not all what she learns externally, I can see. She has so much potential inside her. We just have to let it flow freely and see where it takes her. Hopefully, not to a car crash like the one she is picturing for herself. Pun intended. 

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

