Posted in Celebration, Parenting

MAD – My Adorable Daughter

We used to love calling each other MAD, when we were kids. It was funny to use a ‘rude word’ but actually mean something nice. Today felt like a MAD day. I was mad at my daughter for not giving me the quiet day I wanted but she was just too adorable to stay mad at.


Mama, tea“, pointing at my green mug of warm water with honey and a dash of lemon extract.

Yes, baby

Dada, tea“, pointing at her dad’s big red mug with white polka dots. We have a few of those in different colours.

No, sweetie. This isn’t tea. This is coffee“, he has to correct her, even though she can’t see what’s inside the mug and wouldn’t be able to tell the difference.

Mama, tea. Dada, co-huee“, she repeats, pronouncing coffee like kaw-ghh-uey, with a complicated ‘h’ sound that’s more like gh with the ‘g’ silent.

Would you like some tea?“, I put my mug to her lips.

She grabbed the mug with both hands and took a sip, pulling back right away, “Thamba bissi” (‘thumba bisi’ meaning ‘too hot’). I didn’t even know she knew the word ‘thumba’! It sometimes freaks me out when she says things I don’t know she’s learning from us. You can never be too careful.


Chikkaan!“, she yelled with joy, when she saw the pulled pork for lunch.

It’s pork, not chicken. Can you say pork?

Pork

Very good. Can you say pulled pork?

My pork!” and then pointing to her dad’s sandwich, “Dada’s pork

Umm.. okay


Hey, curls“, dada called her.

Hey, curls“, back to him.

I’m not curls, you are

Curls“, she smiles at him.

Do you know what curls are, baby?“, I asked

She pulled her leg out from underneath her bum and said, “Kaals” (‘kaal’ meaning ‘leg’)


Mama, booboo“, she pointed to her temple

Aww, sweetie. Shall I kissie the booboo for you?

Dada kissie“, she runs to him to kiss her booboo away

Wait till you come to me for boobie next, my dear!


Gets on the swing and starts swinging.

Dada, photo“, she reminds the photo-obsessed dada, who records every minute of her life.


Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

