Posted in Parenting

Some People Actually Want To Have Children

Back in the days, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to have children. I guess I didn’t really know what it would be like, so how could I want it or not? Then, the surprise pregnancy happened and I found myself happy. So, I guess I did want children. Just not the way some people do. The people who know they want it and try for it.

I woke up this morning, feeling groggy, despite the few extra minutes of sleep my daughter and husband let me have. It was one of those mornings. I wanted to have a sleep in, feel lazy and do nothing that involved too much exertion.

But wait, I have a child. How could I even want such a thing with a 20 month old child in the house? I should be shocked at myself!

She wanted to share my ‘tea’ – warm water with a dash of lemon and honey – but wouldn’t let me hold the mug while she drank. So, I poured some into a mug for herself. She took two sips before she spilled some and realized that she could actually tip the whole thing on the floor, which was obviously more fun than drinking!

Splash, splash, hee hee hee“, sticky liquid everywhere!

I jumped up and ran, screaming to her dad to save me. He grabbed a few kitchen towels. Of course, she wanted to help clean. It’s her favourite thing… cleaning! The day she finds out cleaning usually follows making a mess, my house will be a disaster.

Before long, it was time to eat. I wanted to sit on the couch and eat but that was not to be. She had to be fed too.

Berries!“, she pointed to the berries her dad had just put on the kitchen counter. “Rabbit bowl

I told her that her rabbit bowl was in the dishwasher, does she mind eating from an orange bowl. She didn’t.

I turned to see how the pancakes were going and started to serve myself. When I faced her to ask if she would like some, she was busy. Busy playing with the berries. Out of the bowl, into the bowl, onto the bib, around the tray, into the bowl and out of the bowl. Sigh!

Would you like some pancakes?

She took a bite and decided she did. She had half of one pancake with no fuss, so I offered her another one. As she was eating, her dad brought out some more.

More!“, she said

Yes, sweetie, I will give you more. Why don’t you finish this first?

More!

Finish what’s in your hand first, sweetie

More!

No, sweetie, you have to finish this first

The next moment, I saw her hand go to the bowl and rise. I instinctively put out my hand and caught the flying bowl, full of blueberries and pieces of pancakes. A couple of berries and pancake bits made it to the ground anyway. More cleaning, yay!

Dada, I am going to sit down and eat. Please look after this child for a bit“, I walked away to sit on the couch. She followed me and ate some pieces of pancakes off my plate. I insisted on feeding her, I refused to let her touch anymore and mess up the carpet or the furniture. She still managed to get some on the carpet.

The day was just beginning. So much for a quiet, lazy day without needing much effort!

Do people who want children know that it’s going to be like this? And want children, anyway? Even the ones who already have one? Or three? Oh-kaay!

She’s out playing with her dad now. He has given me the morning off to sleep, blog and do whatever else it is that I want to. And here I am, writing about her. I guess that’s how it is. People know and people still want children.

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

