Posted in Parenting

Her Love For Chips, Waffles and Chicken

Her dad took her swimming earlier today. I went to get myself a snack. When I returned, he handed her over to me saying,

She is shivering. She needs a towel. Quick!IMG_8533

Mama, mammmam“, she squealed, pointing at the wedges.

The child was freezing but she put her hand out for the chips before the towel.

Once she was dry and changed, we went to Max Brenner and got waffles. I offered her the strawberries and banana slices that came with it.

No!“, she shook her head vigorously. She only wanted the waffles.

Are we preparing her to be an obese child?

She wakes up in the morning and says, “Mama, chicken“.

She barely eats breakfast and dinner. Unless it’s chips or chicken, her two favourite things. We think it’s okay to let her eat out on the odd occasion. Before we know it, she has developed habits which we then struggle to break.

Are we nurturing unhealthy eating habits in our child? Who’s worse off? Will she suffer for this? Are we going to struggle as we try to break her habits and introduce her to healthier options? All good questions. Also hard questions. This parenting gig is seriously a tough one.

Not so long ago, I would order pizza and guzzle beer/wine every Friday without skipping a beat. Today, I feel guilty having that kind of fun because I know she is watching me and learning. I feel like I have to set a good example. Whatever that is.

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

