Posted in Reverse-parenting

Shit My Daughter Learns By Watching Us

Daycare: “She can wear these shoes by herself!

Mum: “Yes, she does that at home too. She practices. Sometimes she gets the feet wrong

Daycare: “No, she got it right. She did it a few times today. She knows how to wear THESE shoes. Correctly! She’s quite good

She is 20 months old. The shoes are not easy to wear. I should learn to accept compliments gracefully.


 

Dad: “You have to let me finish speaking. I let you finish”

Mum: “No, you didn’t. I’m not finished yet.”

Dad: “You were finished. You have to let me speak”

“STOP!”

We both stopped.


 

Dada?

Yeah sweetie? What are you doing?

Nappy check“, pulling the back of his pants. Then, “No poop! Shirt back

Ok. Glad we got that clarified.


 

“Hi baby!”

“Grandma, clean”

“What are you up to?”

“Clean. Cleeean”

20 mins, 1 wet wipe later the coffee table was as clean as it would ever be.

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

