Posted in Parenting

Don’t Teach Me, Just Let Me Learn

All that is blue is blue. So is everything green. Yellow things are yowyoo. Then there’s red and flashing red. There’s orange the fruit and orange the colour. Pink is orange too. The rest of the world is either blue or orange, depending on the colour closeness to blue or orange. Sometimes what mama wears is black, especially if it’s not blue, yellow, orange or red. It could also be white but black’s easier to remember.

At 20 months, she knows 4 colours. That’s way more than I expected at her age. Maybe she’s very smart. Maybe I have no clue about a child’s mental development.

I follow what some may call the lazy parenting. I leave her alone and let her do things. She learns by watching us do things. She plays with real objects rather than her toys. A quote I once read on the wall of a hospital, in India, often comes to mind

If you don’t teach your children anything, it’s amazing what they learn

I probably don’t have the words right but the guy who was quoted seemed to say that you should let children show you what they are capable of and the only way to do that is to not show them things. I wanted to find the exact quote, so I Googled. I still haven’t found it but I found a few others similar ones. Apparently, my child is growing up to become a rather creative person. Time will tell.

Life learning is about trusting kids to learn what they need to know and about helping them to learn and grow in their own ways. It is about respecting the everyday experiences that enable children to understand and interact with the world and their culture.” ~ Wendy Priesnitz

The whole of life, from the moment you are born to the moment you die is a process of learning.” ~ J Krishnamurti

All I am saying … can be summed up in two words: Trust Children. Nothing could be more simple, or more difficult. Difficult because to trust children we must first learn to trust ourselves, and most of us were taught as children that we could not be trusted.” ~ John Holt

When you teach a child something you take away forever his chance of discovering it for himself.” ~ Jean Piaget

Children do not need to be made to learn about the world, or shown how. They want to, and they know how.” ~ John Holt

Nothing that is worth knowing can be taught.” ~ Oscar Wilde

You cannot teach a person anything; you can only help him find it within himself.” ~ Galileo

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

