Posted in Celebration, Festivities, Parenting, Reverse-parenting, Shopping

The Hump Day

Wednesdays can either be tear-your-hair-apart crazy or incredibly amazing. It’s the day she & I stay home, while her dad goes to work. Each week I resolve that I will make the most of my time with my beautiful daughter and stay calm. Sometimes I succeed.

Today’s plan was to do at least half a dozen fun things. By that I mean fun for both of us. Well, the original plan was to go shopping for her Halloween costume but I got too lazy. Here is what we ended up doing.

1. The fastest clothes-hanger contest

There was one basket full of wet clothes. We each had our own clothes-horse to hang the clothes on. Can you tell who had the most clothes on their line? No points for neatness, unfortunately.

 IMG_8056

2. Bubbles

This was no contest. It involved me blowing bubbles out of a tube and her trying to catch the floating bubbles with her tongue (don’t ask!)

I offered to teach her to blow bubbles herself. She insisted on touching the liquid detergent and then decided to lick her fingers. The expressions that crossed her face over the next few seconds were priceless. I was rolling on the couch, clutching my stomach. I know I should’ve hugged and comforted her but I couldn’t stop laughing. Then she said,

It tastes like wet wipes

Apparently, she has tasted wet wipes! Don’t ask.

3. Big Brother

We ate rice puffs (her version of popcorn) and watched crappy reality TV. She was bored beyond explaining and once the rice puffs were finished, she scooted. I enjoyed watching telly with her (yeah yeah bad parent, bad choice of TV show). It was fun. I’m looking forward to many such girly nights with her as she grows older.

4. Cleaning

I know it sounds like work but she loves cleaning. So, she wiped the mess she made while she was on the high chair (throw spoon… ding… yay… grab fistsful of soup and shake your hand vigorously, watch the stains form on the fridge and cupboard doors… awesome). I hate cleaning and she does a pretty decent job. She even grabbed the mop and mopped the entire kitchen afterwards. She did what she loved while I … umm… well, I finished watching the rest of Big Brother.

IMG_8043

5. Jumping on the bed

She wanted to “nigh-night” but once we lay on the bed, she changed her mind. I was mentally prepared for a nap, so I decided to dog-nap. Dog-nap is when she jumps about on the bed in a crazy-monkey style and I try to catch a nap-like thing, that consists of me lying on the bed with my eyes closed and ears wide open. Occasionally I squeal when she decides to stand on my crotch or fall over my breasts. She thinks it’s funny. We both eventually end up giggling like crazy schoolgirls anyway. How age-inappropriate for both of us! And so much fun!

6. Organizing

She organized one of my kitchen cupboards for me, while I blogged. Apparently, she didn’t like a pile of boxes lying in a heap, with the lids all over, inside the shelf. The lids had to be closed, boxes arranged by size. I haven’t looked at the shelf yet but I’m willing to bet the 20 month old’s arrangement is way better than my pile. She enjoys work! I enjoy letting her work. Counts as fun, no?

IMG_8036

7. Halloween Costume

We went looking for bits that I needed to complete her Halloween costume. Finally, I found the whole set in the toys/dress-ups section of Kmart. There were also fairy sets that looked so pretty that I wavered for a few seconds.

“Baby, come here. Help me pick your costume. Do you want to be a ladybug or fairy?”

“Fairy?” She wasn’t sure what I was asking, so she repeated the last word. I’m sure that’s what it was.

Are you sure, baby? Mumma has picked out ladybug for you. Can you say ladybug?

Laiey budh

Good choice, sweetie

I was beside myself for having found a bargain set of exactly the 3 things I was after – red tutu with black polka dots, soft/velvety headband and light-weight wings. My other options was to attach a roll-up ladybug pillow on her backpack to look like a close-winged ladybug. For some reason, both she and her dad didn’t like the idea.

Teamed with her black leggings and her ladybug boots, she is going to rock the costume 🙂

ladybug costume Kmart

There! Half a dozen fun things and Halloween costume – I managed both!

#bestwednesdayever

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

