Posted in Parenting

I Think Her Cold Virus Got My Brain

Two weeks indoors was enough to drive us both crazy. I went to the office for a couple of days but that hardly counts when you’re dealing with a sick toddler, and she was a very sick one! A nasty virus creating havoc in her little body meant we stayed home for a fortnight and tried to find ways to keep sane. It was rough.

I missed 3 fun lunches at the office, one involving dress-ups (which I really love). Did I mention it was rough? I looked forward to going back to work this week. The mere thought of a normal day got me out of bed happy, on a Monday morning.

I suspected she might not feel the same way about going back to the day-care. She was quiet on the train ride this morning, hugging me all the way. I braced myself to deal with a clinging, crying babe when I dropped her off this morning. I dawdled. I signed her in, then signed the absentee register and took my time going in. I put her stuff in her designated shelf and went in to the kitchen, to set down her milk bottle and dinner. When I came back, she was walking about the room. She seemed perfectly fine. She was smiling and tapping her feet, as she spun around in a circle. No clinging, no climbing on mummy! Good stuff. Strange but great!

I took her bag off and headed towards the playground where the rest of the children were.

Come on, sweetie“, I called out.

The bubble burst. She stood there crying, 2 metres away from the door.

Come on, sweetie. Don’t you want to play with your friends?

Still crying, holding her hand out to me to pick her up.

Should I have just left her in the room? Alone? This was crazy stuff. Not quite understanding what the problem was, I picked her up, mentally preparing myself to be late to work. I had to explain to her that she’d be fine and I’d pick her up later that evening. I walked over to put her water bottle in the basket where the other kids had put theirs. I said hello to Miss T, who greeted us.

Cuddle?“, Miss T held her arms out. The next second, the thing in my arms leaned over, smiled and went into her arms willingly.

Huh?” It took me a few seconds to realize what had just happened.

Bye, sweetie!

I bent to kiss her on her cheek and left. No tear or protests. At the gate, I turned to look at her again. Still fine. Not even the befuddled look that she sometimes has on her face when I leave. I was stupefied!

I thought she might be a little upset and cry today, as she’s back after being away for 2 weeks“, I said to Miss T.

No, she seems fine“, Miss T replied.

Yes, she seems fine! Bye, sweetie“, I finally left.

What just happened? Was she playing tricks on me? If I can’t understand this kid at 20 months, what am I going to do when she is a teenager?

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

