Posted in Parenting

Eat, Love.

She was thrilled to bits that she could see mama on the little screen of the “monet” i.e. monitor a.k.a baby monitor. Her dad was excited that she was so excited to see mama on the screen. I refused to open my eyes, pushed my sheet further down, and let them continue to be enchanted by sleeping mama on the monitor.

In spite of my sleep deprivation and a slight misunderstanding with her dad, which meant he went to work leaving me alone with a hyperactive virus-infected kid to entertain, it turned out to be an okay day. She was almost her normal self; if only she would eat. On second thought, that has nothing to do with her flu but more to do with the fact that she’d rather take the easy way out and breastfeed than bother with chewing solid food!

I made myself some Weetbix mush for breakfast.

Mammam“, she craned her neck towards me. That’s her way of saying she wanted the food (i.e. mammam) that I was eating.

She ate more than half of my breakfast. The child won’t eat a thing when I try to feed her but I start eating and she is suddenly hungry! I tried the same trick at lunch but I ended up eating the entire curry rice while she watched. I can never win with this one.

We did a dozen different things and we played but she just wouldn’t get tired. Her nap was so short I barely had time to take a deep breath! This parenting thing is crazy business. When the toddler’s sick, we both feel lousy and exhausted. Come recovery and she is super active while I continue to feel lousy and exhausted.

Evening couldn’t come fast enough. The 3 of us sat on the floor, cross-legged, steel plates in front of us for dinner. It reminded me of days when I was very young and ate this way. Just like I did at her age, the little one took absolute delight in having a meal this way. We should do this more often. Maybe she will eat better this way.

I can never really tell.

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

