Posted in Parenting

Something Blue

When she was younger, I used to love dressing her up. I made her wear matching headbands with frocks. She wore cute baby sunglasses and floral hats.

I may as well make her wear what I like while I can. It won’t be long before she starts making her own choices“, I said.

That was yesterday and here we are today, already arguing about colours, clothes, food and everything else she can communicate about.

She can now identify the colour blue. You can’t go past anything that’s blue without her pointing at it and yelling,

Blyuuuuuu

It is amazing for a child her age! Unfortunately, as that’s the only colour she knows, some of the other things in the house that take her fancy are also ‘blue’, even if they are not blue. If it’s green, it’s most likely blue. If it’s pink, it’s probably orange (another colour she’s just learning) but it could be blue. I sense a very faint, almost non-existent, hesitation in her voice when she looks at something that’s not blue and confidently tells me it’s blue. I correct her and tell her it’s green or brown or whatever else the colour is. She insists it’s blue. It’s an ongoing battle.

No baby, it’s green

Blyuuuuuu

No sweetie, it’s green

Blyuuuuuu

That is not blue, bubba, this is“, bringing something blue in front of her. “That is green

Blyuuuuuu“, pointing at the blue object. Very sure of herself.

Yes, that’s blue. Now, this here is green”, showing her the original object.

Blyuuuuuu“, there’s a faint smile forming that she’s trying to hide. She knows it’s not blue.

Since neither of us are willing to concede (because I know I’m right and she thinks she’s right even when she knows she isn’t), we compromise by agreeing that it’s a matter of personal opinion.

Apparently, I’m not the only one facing this issue.

Dogs and blues

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

