Posted in Parenting

What She Wants

I was warned that babies grow up to an age when they start to choose the clothes they want to wear. It would be somewhere around the 2 years mark. My daughter is 19 months and she has an opinion on what she wants, on all things.

Kitty jacket

She knows exactly which bib she wants to wear. It’s either that or no other. For a while, she would insist on this teeny little cloth bib with a plastic front, from when she was way younger. Easy on the skin and easy to wipe but barely served it’s purpose. After it mysteriously disappeared and a couple of big ones arrived, things are much better at the dinner table. She chooses the spoon she will eat from and sometimes that changes during the course of the meal but that just means more load for the dishwasher.

If we are listening to nursery rhymes, she has requests. Reading books at night? She will tell you which one to read.

I take her to the cupboard to pick out a shirt and pair of pants. She gives the shelves one cursory glance and then points to the right, “Frock!

She went through a phase of wearing her one frilly skirt all the time, when she was at home. Even to bed. So, I got her a couple of skirts yesterday. I wouldn’t have thought it but I had to search hard and long to find two skirts with frills!

In spite of the Winter cold being rather gentle in this part of the world, she has a collection of jackets. If she had to pick (often does), it is always the big, warm white jacket with lots of pink and blue “meow” on it. If she sees it lying around, she grabs it and wears it around the house.

Recently, she has decided that she doesn’t like to wear clothes in the morning. She fights it, screaming and lying on the floor, thrashing her legs. No clothes and no arguments about it. Thankfully, the weather has been reasonably warm since Spring begun. At some point in the morning she will want something – food, go out to the balcony, etc – and I trade her the activity for wearing clothes!

The list goes on and she isn’t even close to the expected milestone age for being able to make some of these choices. What then?

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

3 thoughts on “What She Wants

  1. That’s awesome… you never know what’s going on in her head… When I was young, I used to want to be a princess, but I didn’t have a princess dress, so, to make my skirt “spread out,” I would put on EVERY dress from the closet. I had 5 sisters, so this was quite a collection. I would start from the smallest dresses I could fit into and end with the big ones. My parents would try so hard not to laugh at me, because I looked fat when I had them all on. But I had a “poofy” dress, and that made me feel like an elegant princess, so I was happy. One day, someone gave us a princess dress and I was the happiest little girl in the whole world.
    But yeah, I was opinionated and independent as a child, I still am, and I did have reasons for most of my choices, ha ha, even if nobody else might have agreed with them 😉

    1. Opinionated and independent sounds like my daughter alright! I don’t know if she knows the concept of princess yet but she does twirl and go around in circles with her skirts. Maybe I will ask her next time she does it and see what words she uses to describe what she’s doing. Thanks for the idea 🙂

      Didn’t you get hot in all those skirts?

Leave a Reply

