Posted in Reverse-parenting

Yay for the OCD kid!

I used to wonder if I should worry. Having experienced it for a while now, I think I love it. A child with OCD? I will have one of those, thanks.

A little earlier this morning, I was standing at the kitchen counter, typing away on my computer. R, wearing nothing but an “unnie” (undie), walked in and called out to me.

Mamma!

She pushed me back until she was satisfied with the distance between me and the counter. Under the counter is a set of drawers, the bottom two of which have her things – bowls, spoons, plate, tumbler and anything else she thinks can go in there.

She carefully opened the top drawer and started to organize things in there. The steel bowls were stacked over one another. The plastic ones were stacked with their kind, the biggest ones at the bottom and the smallest at the top. Other bric-a-brac filled up the remaining space, including some spoons and a coffee filter. Dada’s hat was carelessly thrown on top of everything.

When she was finished, she addressed me again.

Mamma, cwowse

She gently pushed the drawer close and watched it shut. Then, she wrapped her little hand around my little finger.

Walk!“, she ordered in her sweet and kind manner, as she walked me away from her drawer, into the lounge.

Who doesn’t want to have a child who can tuck her things in a drawer and organize them neatly? By size and type too! As soon as she is old enough, she will certainly be organizing the laundry and everything else in the kitchen. I can already envision the days when I will have so much time on my hands to take up a number of the hobbies I have ever wanted to.

Now, how do I ensure that she keeps this up all the way into her teenage and adult years?

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

2 thoughts on “Yay for the OCD kid!

  1. My big sister was like this. She just always liked things “just so.” We used to tease her about it when we were little. But she’s still like that. The trait stayed with her all growing up and now, she’s married to an averagely messy man, and she keeps the house pretty ship-shape, when she has the time. She just really enjoys organizing and seeing everything neat and tidy. That’s her “thing.” She used to mess up her room just so she could go back and put things away. 😉 Not a bad trait to have. 😉

    1. Agreed. It’s definitely not a bad trait to have. i’m looking forward to when she’s older and can share more chores at home. While she keeps things spick and span, I might just find time to get started on a hobby 🙂

Leave a Reply

