Posted in Parenting

New Teachers, New Tears

When M spoke to me about moving my baby from Nursery to Junior Toddlers a couple of weeks ago, I did not see a reason to worry. Baby knew the toddler teachers and her best friend was moving too. She would be fine.

She is only moving two days a week. She’d still be in the Nursery the other two days“, M re-assured me.

All good, M“, I said.

On her first day, she jumped off my arms and ran around, exploring the new room. Little was she aware that I’d drop her off and leave. Little did I realize that she wasn’t expecting to be left there. When I look back, I see it but on that day, I was just pleased that she settled in so easily. I should have explained the transition to her. I should have re-assured her that she would be okay. I didn’t. My bad. M had known. I hadn’t foreseen it would be hard at all.

Every day since then, she grows anxious as we walk into the daycare. She wraps her hand around my neck, grabs my hair and screams when I try to drop her off. She refuses to let go of me. She doesn’t want me to leave her. It is distressing to say the least. It is like starting daycare all over again. This time, the ladies at the Nursery aren’t there to cuddle her and distract her. The ‘Toddler Teachers’ are too busy with the other toddlers. They don’t seem to realize that the littlies moving from the Nursery are still little babies.

When we check in on her during the day, she has settled. It’s the same playground, her same friends and some new. She copes.

When her dad picks her up and meets me near my office, she is cranky. At first, we found that they woke her up before her sleep was done.

Rules“, C said.

How could they just wake up a sleeping baby? What sort of shit rules are those? Who wakes up a sleeping baby?“, I just didn’t get it.

Screw the rules. I complained to M and ensured that baby gets her normal sleep.

She was still cranky yesterday. My bad again! I usually pick her up. We cuddle and breastfeed before we leave. Too many changes without warning. I should have known. I should have told her. I should have been there to pick her up. So, we cuddle and breastfed in the train.

Last evening, I found this in the local ‘free newspaper’ handed out at the train station. Was he talking to me?

IMG_7153

This morning, I found this, in response to last evening’s note. Thank God for the ‘Peter B’s!

Response

 

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

