Posted in Parenting

Stuck Indoors On A Weekend

For the 5th time this year, we planned a trip to the Koala sanctuary on a Saturday and she fell sick. Coincidence? After cancelling over a common cold the first few times, we decided it was no biggie. The next couple of times it’s been diarrhoea. It is bad enough to have to change 50 nappies a day (ok, 20… or 15… fine, 10) but when a runny one on a pram that inclines the wrong way… well, you get the picture.

So, we stayed home this weekend. I can’t say I was looking forward to it that much, what with her dad down with ‘man-flu’ too.

Man-flu

The thing about sending her to daycare is that a day at home with her is a journey of discovery. One day she is fascinated by the ‘ding, ding’ of the dial when I turn the washing machine on and the next, she hits all the right buttons, turns the dial and runs the machine. Ok, I maybe be exaggerating. She does turn the dial and hit the buttons but not in the right order or correctly enough to run the machine.

We washed clothes yesterday. To save power, I decided to dry them on the clothes-horse, while she played in the balcony. She decided to help instead. Throwing her dolls on the floor, she proceeded to pluck the wet clothes out of the basket. It took me only a second to realise that if I didn’t accept the clothes from her hand as she pulled them out and thrust them in my direction, they would take a dive to the ground. Trying to explain that you only do one piece at a time was an exercise in vain. If only she would at least slow down! Thanks to her, we were done hanging the clothes in no time.

Luckily for me, she was in a helping mood all day. During nappy changes, she would pull out a wipe and hand it to me. Again, that speed! How do you wipe a bum quickly and still make sure it’s clean, while holding her legs in one hand and wiping with Rhymes Timeanother, as wet wipes were handed down in quick succession?

When I needed a break, dad took over. Too tired for much, he played rhymes on his tablet. She watched, occasionally doing her version of “dance, dance” to the music. Continuing in the spirit of kindness, she ran to get her Teddy and Scotty to listen to the music with her. Why should her best friends miss out on the fun?

In the evening, we went out. Before brushing her hair, I brought out the little bottle of virgin coconut oil. She took the bottle from me, put her tiny little fingers inside and rubbed them against the sides to extract the oil. Then, she applied it on her hair, gently massaging the way I always do.

She needed no further encouragement when I said,

Help me put the toys away, sweetie, so we can go b-bye

The dolls, blocks and other little play items were put into the two large boxes that hold her toys. Once done, she promptly dragged her jacket perched on the top of the sofa and went to pick up her shoes.

The Universe must have been pleased with her activities through the day. As soon as we hit the entrance of the park, we saw a flock of crows under a tree. If I could read her mind, she was probably thinking, “Is this paradise?“. Well, maybe not but something along those lines. We stopped there and watched as the flock reduce to six, five and finally just two crows. We contemplated for a bit on whether to chase them or not, decided against it and ran about to the playground area in the park.

IMG_6914

Mamma, slide!

Crows, slide and an obliging mum. Yes, the Universe was truly happy with her.

Later in the weekend, I found this. It looks like the dolls have all been upgraded from floor to couch. Click here for that story.

Napping dolls

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

Leave a Reply

