Posted in Parenting

Naptime At Daycare

I get her all for myself, one day every week. To know what happens at daycare during the rest of the week, I just watch her (re)play. Yesterday morning, I got an insight into their lunch and nap-time routine.

The big bear called ‘Teddy’ got fed from a little steel tumbler, with a large steel spoon. Some of the others went on the high chair. I had to put them in there, of course. Apparently, they could feed themselves. There was also the assumption that I would organise their lunch because she was too busy feeding ‘Teddy’.

At around half past eleven, she climbed the sofa, grabbed the throw perched at the top and got down. Then, this happened:

“ABCD, nigh-night!”. The monkey that sings “A, B, C, D” was plonked on his stomach, on the floor, with the blanketIMG_6859 covering him. She patted him briefly before moving on. He was out pretty quick. I wish she was like that!

“Tiddy, night-night!” and the little blue Teddy (what’s with the Kiwi accent?) was down for his nap.

“Scotty, night-night!”

“Teddy, night-night!”

“Vaaga, night-night!”

…and so on. She repeated the plonk face-down, blanket and pat-pat act till all of them were done. Some of them took longer to drift off than the others. Some of them needed to be patted back to sleep a second time. Each time, she would pull the blanket off the previous ‘baby’ and throw it over the one she was getting to sleep.

One little bugger must have been special because he got a massive bed for himself, while the whirlee/car/horsey managed to score the blanket.

IMG_6861

The toughest of the lot turned out to be the sea-horse with the light in the stomach, playing soothing music. For some reason, it (he/she?) wouldn’t sleep, in spite of many minutes of being patted. So, she picked up the sea-horse and walked over to the fold-out couch in which little Tiddy slept.

Tiddy, sorry! Sit down!

Tiddy was thrown out of the bed and sea-horse took the place on the bed, knocking out instantly.

I couldn’t wait to see what she would get up to once they were all down for their nap. My excitement was short-lived. The next minute, she was cranky. It turns out that when she was sleepy, the dolls were sleepy too. By the time she put them all down for their nap ala daycare-style, she was buggered.

So, off we went for a good session of cuddle and ‘night-night’, a special routine only she gets. At home, with mum.

Author:

I used to wonder whether I could ever be a parent. Then I became one. I was handed a delicate little bundle that I was terrified of bringing home. I didn't know how to be a parent and I was sure 'winging it' was not the right way to do it. Little did I know at the time that there is no right way. The baby knew what she wanted and all I had to do was figure it out along the way. As she grows up, she helps me learn what I need to know... I just need to pay attention to her.

One thought on “Naptime At Daycare

Leave a Reply

